College of Business, Development Economics and Management

The College of Business, Development Economics and Management of the University of Southern Mindanao (CBDEM-USM) was known before as the Institute of Development Economics and Management (IDEM) since it was separated from its mother college the College of Agriculture on December 10, 1992. IDEM was converted into CBDEM through BOR Resolution # 9, series of 2008. Behind is a social mission to have a curricular offering hasten the socio-economic development in Central Mindanao by producing graduates who are equipped with knowledge, skills and attitude to render public services to realize strong, effective and efficient governance.

The College has five departments, namely: Department of Agribusiness, Department of Agricultural Economics, Department of Development Management, Department of Business Administration and the Department of Accountancy. It offers five baccalaureate programs include Bachelor of Science in Agribusiness, Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics, Bachelor of Science in Bachelor of Science in Development Management, Bachelor of Science in Business Administration, and the Bachelor of Science in Accountancy. The graduate offerings are Master of Science in Agricultural Economics (MS AgEcon), Master of Science in Rural Economic Development (MSRED), Master in Public Administration (MPA) and Doctor of Philosophy in Rural Development (PhD RD.

The College was known to have the highest enrolment in the campus. In terms of accreditation, there were 2 programs recently visited for Level III Phase I on BS Agribusiness and BS AgEcon. The BS in Development Management is on Level I status while BS Business Administration and BS Accountancy are on preliminary visit status.

There were 44 strong faculty members who are holders of relevant Master’s and Doctoral degrees. Of those faculty members, 8 were doctoral degree holders, 17 master’s degree holders and 19 were continuing their studies. Eighteen (18) faculty members were under Contract of Service (COS) and the rest were on permanent status. The admission requirements and policies which are adopted by the college were the same with those of the university.

The College has four (4) support staff of either contractual or pakyaw basis. One of them is a BS Degree holder with masters’ units while the rest are undergraduates. As to structure, the college has one (1) building which was partially renovated. It has 13 classrooms, 1 audio-visual room, 1 laboratory room and the rests are faculty offices and comfort rooms.

The research mandate of the College is manifested by having completed 2 faculty researches and 11 on-going researches funded by USM and external funds. There were also students’ researches during the period. There were 5 papers presented (2 international, 1 national and 2 in the local forum). The College is also undergoing tracer study for CBDEM graduates on the 5 programs.

The extension function of the College was materialized through its self-help initiative in collaboration with Local Student Government and Society of CBDEM in the implementation of projects in the adopted area of Dagupan, Kabacan, Cotabato. In addition to this activity, the college faculty members had serve as either as consultants, facilitators, coordinators or lecturers in their own fields of specialization.

Some of the faculty members were investors of the CBDEM Canteen which was operationalized by a private person. The AgEcon Department is a compiler and distributor of Econ 111 Workbook. The department also required 11 volumes of various economics and agri-economics related books through the donation of Mr. Quintin Balagot.

In 1014, the operation of the college was financed from its local funds (tuition and laboratory fees) and partly from the national government on the repair of the building. In order to improve the operation of the unit, it conducted meetings of faculty, staff together with student leaders of the different society organizations.


To produce competent and responsible professionals who will provide leadership in business, development, economics and management.



The general objective of the College of Business Development and Economics Management is:

  1. to develop the students’ entrepreneurial, managerial and leadership skills with high sense of integrity;
  2. to continually generate and impart knowledge, skills, attitudes and values to students;
  3. to disseminate the generated knowledge, skills and technologies in the service areas through collaboration with government and non-government organizations;
  4. to establish and operationalize income generation activities in order to augment the limited resources;
  5. to continually train students, who will in turn become trainers to contribute for the development in the community.
Bachelor of Science in Agribusiness
Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Economics
Bachelor of Science in Bachelor of Science in Development Management
Bachelor of Science in Business Administration
Bachelor of Science in Accountancy
Name Highest Educational Attainment Rank
Abidong, Helen A.
Agustin, Roszhien M.
Alba, Mitzi Aileen M. PhD.
Amolo, Herson B. Professor I
Amolo, Sandra Angela G.
Bagonoc, Lian D.
Bangcaya, Jared Virgil A.
Basan, Romiel John P.
Belgira, R-nel R.
Bolotaolo, Kathleen Ivy Z.
Candari, K-phren D.
Cariaga, Mary Rodelyn A.
Dapon, Victor C.
Dapun, Lope E. PhD.
Dela Peña, Gloria L. Professor
Dela Viña, Nerissa G.
Duka, Jeannie U. PhD.
Ellorimo, Ronel L.
Enock, Jul-aida U. PhD.
Fajarito, Jr., Irving T.
Gabronino, Gloria L. PhD.
Garcia, Francisco Gil N. PhD.
Gomez, Norma U. PhD.
Gonzales, Analyn
Guiamal, Magdalena A.
Gumansing-Gunsayan, Esmaira D.
Lim, Ma. Evelia Z. Professor
Literal, Vergil Joseph I.
Llanto, Jhon Dave E.
Logronio, Metche Anne C.
Mag-aso, Jenneth R.
Malunes, Loel
Marohom, Jalaloden B.
Neyra, Rhenalie T.
Osorio, Rizza L.
Panaguiton, Rey L.
Puzon, Noreen Faithe
Quiambao, Charisse Angela S.
Talungon, Carl Ceasar
Valdez, Lorna G..